Joe Duffy to receive Lord Mayor’s Award 2017

RTÉ presenter Joe Duffy will receive an award for his long and varied career as a reporter, producer, and presenter this evening.

He’ll be honoured at the annual Lord Mayor’s Awards ceremony in the Round Room at the Mansion House, Dawson Street where four Awards will be presented to individuals and groups to mark their contribution to Dublin Society.

The presentations are made by the Lord Mayor of Dublin, Brendan Carr.

Joe is perhaps best known for presenting one of Ireland’s leading radio shows, ‘Liveline’ on RTÉ Radio 1 where he gives people the opportunity to have their voice heard to speak up against issues of concern. Almost 400,000 listeners tune in daily to ‘Talk to Joe’.

Joe said: “I’m deeply honoured for myself, RTÉ and the Liveline listeners to receive this award.”

Jim Jennings, Managing Director, RTÉ Radio, said: “I am delighted that Joe is being recognised with this honour. Throughout his many years of broadcasting with RTÉ, Joe has always looked to give a voice to people, with the telling of their stories at the heart of his work. Both through his recent dedication to uncovering the stories of the children of 1916, and reaching out to people daily on RTÉ Radio 1’s Liveline, he is a very deserving winner of this award.”

Speaking about the Awards the Lord Mayor said: “The Lord Mayor’s Awards are all about saying ‘thank you’, not only on my own behalf but on behalf of all the people of Dublin, to citizens who, through their ordinary everyday lives, enrich this city in an extraordinary way. It is one of the highlights of my year as Lord Mayor to present these Awards and I’ve chosen to Award two exceptional individuals who contribute to the proud reputation of Dublin city.

“I’ve highlighted and acknowledged the role played by working people who have made this great city what it is today and I’ve honoured those who contribute to the great sporting traditions in Dublin through their generosity and tireless efforts.”

The Lord Mayor’s Awards began in 1989 and previous winners include Imelda May, Maeve Binchy, Brian O’Driscoll, Jimmy Magee and Commander Chris Hadfield.

If you liked this story, we can email you more radio news and alerts. Just fill in the form below.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

You might also like