UTV chair removed, other directors quit

UTV Media’s board of directors, including radio chief Scott Taunton, have voted for the immediate removal of John B McGuckian as chairman.

Shane Reihill, Kevin Lagan and John B McGuckian then resigned as directors of UTV with immediate effect.

UTV Media, which owns talkSPORT and numerous commercial radio stations in the UK and Ireland, has started the search for a new independent non-executive chairman as well as at least 2 independent non-executive directors. In the meantime, Helen Kirkpatrick, an existing independent non-executive director of the company has agreed to become interim Chairman.

The board considered that Mr McGuckian’s close association with TVC, a major shareholder of UTV, had compromised his independence to such an extent that they no longer considered it appropriate for him to continue as Chairman.

He has been with UTV for more than 40 years and was appointed Chairman in 1990.

If you liked this story, we can email you more radio news and alerts. Just fill in the form below.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

You might also like