Radio winners announced at 2013 Smedias

The radio winners of the 13th annual National Student Media Awards have been announced at the Ballsbridge Hotel in Dublin.

smediasOut of the 33 categories, five were for radio including Best Radio DJ and Best Radio Documentary.

Edel Hynes from the Dun Laoghaire Institute of Art Design and Technology won Radio Production (Arts and Features), Rebecca Shekleton from the Dublin Institute Technology won Radio DJ, Gregory Rooney from NUI Maynooth won Radio Documentary and DCUFM at Dublin City University won Radio Production (News and current affairs).

Also, Kirsty An Chnoic from National University of Ireland in Galway took home the Iriseoireach Radio prize.

Here are all the media winners in full:

1. Society Publication of the Year: Rachel Kane – The Verdict – Queens University Belfast

2. Short story of the year: Robert Higgins – Griffith College Dublin

3. Web designer of the year: Ronan Burtenshaw – Trinity News – Trinity College Dublin

4. Blog of the year: Ross O’Neill – – Ballyfermot College Dublin

5. Small college publication: Conor Doyle – Tonic – DIT (Dublin Institute of technology)

6. TV Production: Aodhan O Maoileoin – NUIG (National University of Ireland, Galway)

7. Radio Production (Arts and Features): Edel Hynes – Dun Laoghaire Institute of Art Design and Technology

8. Magazine of the year: Aaron Devine – TN2 – Trinity College Dublin

9. Short animation: Mark Fisher – Hell or High Water – Ballyfermot College Dublin

10. Colour Writer: Dylan Joyce Ahearne – Trinity College Dublin

11. Sports photographer: Christine C Fagerbakke – Griffith College Dublin

12. Film Script: Ruairi Moore – Minute Men – University of Limerick

13. Leiruchain Teilifise I nGaelige: Faisnéis & Drámaíocht – Daithi O Cinneide – Ar Scráth a Chéile – NUIG (National University Ireland Galway)

14. Website of the year: Roxanne Mauck – – DIT (Dublin Institute of Technology)

15. RSA (Journalism relating to road safety): Ciaran O’Connor – DCU (Dublin City University)

16. News Photographer: Janusz Biarda – Griffith College Dublin

17. Layout and Design: Dargan Crowley-Long – Trinity News – Trinity College Dublin

18. Short film of the year: Siobhan Perry – Off the Board – DIT (Dublin Institute Technology)

19. Feature Writer (Arts and Pop Culture): Aoife Valentine – UCD

20. Radio DJ: Rebecca Shekleton – DIT (Dublin Institute Technology)

21. Foras na Gaelige: Derek O’Brien – DCU (Dublin City Universty)

22. Radio Documentary: Gregory Rooney – NUI Maynooth

23. Journalist of the year (National Press): Sarah Bermingham – DCU (Dublin City University)

24. Radio Production (News and current affairs): DCUFM – DCU (Dublin City University)

25. Features Writer (News and Politics): James Bennett – Trinity College Dublin

26. Iriseoireacht trí Ghaelige (Raidió): Kirsty An Chnoic – NUIG (National University of Ireland, Galway)

27. Travel Writer of the year: Michael Phoenix – UCD

28. People’s choice: Trinity TV – Trinity College Dublin

29. Sports Writer: Stephen Barry – UCC

30. Journalist of the year: Tommy Gavin – Trinity College Dublin

31. Photographer of the year: Ray Hegarty – Griffith College Dublin

32. Editor of the year: Emer Sugrure and Aoife Valentine – University Observer – UCD

33. Newspaper of the year: Trinity News – Trinity College

If you liked this story, we can email you more radio news and alerts. Just fill in the form below.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

You might also like